CPD23: 23 Things for Professional Development, Thing 1

24 Jun
I’ve made a last-minute decision to participate in the 23 Things for Professional Development program, which begins this week. Several people have mentioned it on twitter, and it looks like an interesting experience. The first “thing” is to start a blog. Since I already have one, I’ll be using this blog to participate in the program.
Looking at the list of 23 things, I’m already pretty familiar with many of them from my “Information Technology Tools and Applications” course for my MLIS. So why am I doing this program? There are several reasons:

  • There are some topics that I do not know as much about and would like to learn more, such as personal branding and advocacy.
  • I certainly don’t know everything about any topic, so I could always learn something new, even about the topics I think I know well already.
  • There are a lot of people participating, so I may make some new connections. Everyone who’s participating is listed here.
  • I’d like to get in the habit of blogging regularly since I’ve let this blog slip a bit. This program could give me the structure I need to make that happen.

I think it’s important to keep learning even though I’m done with school. Sometimes it can be difficult to make time to do this on your own, however. I think that this program, with its weekly schedule and assignments, will be a good way to remedy this problem. I look forward to the next “thing”!

2 Responses to “CPD23: 23 Things for Professional Development, Thing 1”

  1. Emily June 28, 2011 at 6:02 am #

    It seems like we have a similar approach to the CPD 23 program. Though I am familiar with many of the tools on the list, I think that thinking about them from a professional development standpoint will be something different, and I’m sure I will learn something new. I look forward to interacting with you during the program.

    • amandag July 6, 2011 at 9:52 am #

      I agree, it will be interesting to view these tools through a different lens. There is such a range of people participating in this program, too – from students to new professionals to experienced librarians – so it will be great to hear everyone’s experiences with the different tools. Once I finally get caught up to everyone else, that is!

Leave a Reply

