Library podcasts

23 Oct

I love podcasts.

It took me a while to realize this, because I didn’t understand at first why anyone would be interested in a podcast at first. Then I started listening to podcasts of NPR shows on road trips – This American Life, RadioLab – and I was hooked. It didn’t take me long to hear about a relatively new library-related podcast called Adventures in Library Instruction, and I realized that podcasts can be a great way to squeeze in a little professional development on my commute.

I’ve been adding several podcasts as I hear about them, but I haven’t really found that many library ones that are still being produced. However, I wanted to share some of my favorites.

  • Adventures in Library Instruction. My first library podcast. Rachel Borchardt, Jason Puckett, and Anna Van Scoyoc are all librarians involved in instruction who host a monthly podcast about teaching information literacy. Sometimes they are joined by guests who discuss interesting initiatives or approaches to instruction that they are involved in. However, even when it is just the three hosts, it is always an interesting conversation and I am always learning about new tools and ideas from listening to this podcast. One of the things I like about this podcast is the varied perspectives from different kinds of libraries that are included – Rachel and Jason are in academic libraries, Anna works in a public library and does instructional activities there, and they have had guests like Buffy Hamilton, who is a(n awesome) school librarian.
  • T is for Training. Maurice Coleman hosts this podcast about training in libraries. The interesting thing about this podcast is the community aspect – it is an interactive call-in show, and anyone can participate. Trainers, librarians, patrons – anyone who wants to join in the conversation can participate via voice call or chat. It’s always lively, and a lot of fun to listen to. There are also other ways to be involved in the T is for Training community, including Friendfeed, a Google Group, a Diigo group, or by tagging links at Delicious. I always download the latest episode from iTunes so I can listen to the show at my convenience, but it looks like you can listen live by going to the show site at Talkshoe. The next episode is scheduled for November 5, 2010 at 2pm Eastern – why not give it a try?
  • LISten. This is the podcast of LISNews.org, a blog about current events and news related to Library and Information Science. It’s a relatively short podcast, but along with the website, it is a great way to keep up with the latest news about libraries, information, book publishing, and other interesting topics.
  • The Knitting Librarian. This is the podcast of Kate Kosturski, a newly minted librarian from New Jersey. This podcast is about both knitting and librarianship, both interests of mine. She has regular segments, including the knitting update; this week in LIS; me, me, me, me! (personal update); and the awesome sauce (cool things she wants to share). I like this podcast because I can relate so much to Kate’s experiences as another recent MLIS grad looking for her first professional librarian position, who also knits, runs, and likes Doctor Who.

There are several other library-related podcasts that I have recently heard about but have not yet gotten the chance to check out:

  • Libpunk: Podcast hosted by Kathryn Greenhill, Sarah Glassmeyer, and Kendra K. Levine. Honestly, I’m not really sure what this podcast is about, but I saw a link on the T is for Training blog and thought it looked interesting. I’m intrigued by the libpunk concept which seems to take into account ideas about empowering librarians to create communities amongst themselves instead of being bound by the professional associations and doing librarianship their own way. I’ll have to listen to the first episode soon to see how close I came.
  • The WGIL Room. This podcast is hosted by SUNY librarians Carleen Huxley, Dana Longley, and Mark McBride, and is about library instruction and technology. I just heard about this brand-new podcast on the latest episode of Adventures in Library Instruction, and I can’t wait to check it out. I’ve heard Dana Longley speak on one of the early Adventures in Library Instruction episodes, and I’m sure she has a lot of interesting things to talk about.
  • Digital Campus. This is not strictly a library podcast, but it is about digital media and technology on university campuses and sounds like it contains useful information for librarians. It is hosted by Dan Cohen, Amanda French, Mills Kelly, and Tom Scheinfeldt.

I know there have been other interesting library podcasts that have since stopped recording, including The Library 2.0 Gang and Uncontrolled Vocabulary, whose back episodes are probably worth a listen.

I am always interested in hearing about new library podcasts. What are your favorites?

Note: I have now added links to these podcasts on the sidebar so they will be easy to find.

4 Responses to “Library podcasts”

  1. annavan October 23, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    amanda [not sure were i got kate]!

    thanks so much for the adventures in library instruction mention! we love doing the podcast, and it’s nice to know others are enjoying it [and are listening!]. we always take recommendations for topics — so feel free to let us know if there’s a guest/topic suggestion or even if you want join us sometime!

    anna

    • amandag October 23, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

      No problem (I hope it’s ok I deleted the first comment-didn’t see it until they were both in my queue). I will definitely suggest something if I think of a good topic. Thanks for introducing me to the wonderful world of library podcasts. 🙂

  2. (almost) Bald Trainer November 9, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Thanks for mentioning T is for Training in your Library Podcast round up. I am thankful that you get some value from the show. Perhaps you can call in one day and participate!

  3. Megan H. March 21, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Some other librarian podcasts, though I can’t promise that all of them are still running:

    Longshots
    Library Luminary Lectures
    Library Cafe
    Cool Tools for Library 2.0
    ACRL Podcasts

Leave a Reply

